Exhausting My Food Supply Episode Two: WTF is Hoisin Sauce and what is it doing in my kitchen?

Posted: February 6, 2012 by Barbie in Stockpiling Food
Tags:

So, I’m still eating my way through the last of the groceries, and it’s looking like my previous projection of two weeks was fairly pessimistic.  I really haven’t even had to get that creative yet.  I’m definitely learning a lot about myself that will help when I start buying food like it’s my job.

1.  I don’t really like beef as much as I thought.  A nice beef roast, yes.  A thick juicy steak on the grill, HELL yes.  Beef stir-fry not so much.  I don’t really know why, but I’d just rather have chicken.  When I start food shopping again, I’ll stock up on chicken and roasts and ground beef for things like chili and meatballs, but I’ll skip the cuts of beef that are a bit tougher.  I’ve also learned that the mere thought of pork chops makes me want to gag, so I’ll never buy those again.

2.  There is some random ass shit in my pantry, and I have no idea how much allergy medication I must have taken before I bought it.  I found a jar of Hoisin sauce in there, and I DON’T EVEN KNOW WHAT THAT IS!!!  The expiration date was more than two years ago, so maybe I knew when I bought it and early onset dementia is already taking hold of me.

3.  I buy a lot of things because I don’t remember if I have them or not.  There are like 9 boxes of lasagna noodles in my house, which would be awesome, except there’s not a DAMN THING to make lasagna with.  Clearly, I need an inventory management system.

4.  When you’re eating all the food in your pantry, it’s a great opportunity to slap a couple coats of bonding primer on the shelves, before you start packing them full again.  I’ve been meaning to do this since the Great Rotten Potato Incident of 2009 but I’ve been procrastinating, and the smell has been growing ever fainter.  I finally got it done.

5.  FYI, when you pull the last of the food from your shelves so you can paint them, you should be aware that a Chihuahua can and will slit open any pouches of tuna so cleanly you’ll think he had a tiny Leatherman tool hidden in his crate.  You should also be aware that diarrhea may or may not follow (fortunately for me, my pup has a cast iron stomach.  the only ill effect he suffered was the cussing out he got from his mama when she caught one look at the smug, self satisfied grin on his furry little mug).

6.  I would highly recommend the “eating the stockpile” exercise to anyone.  It’s taught me a lot about what I do and don’t eat, and that information will definitely help me better plan an effective food stockpile.

Comments
  1. David says:

    Before we started farming and growing all our food I went through a whole process of trying to figure out just what we eat. I mean, I never really thought about it much as I walked through a store and add things to the buggy. But I had to start considering what went INTO it, not just the final product. I made real effort though to write down everything we bought and started growing according to those charts. I think eating your stockpiles it a great idea…you’ll get a good education.

  2. Amy Holmes says:

    I must say I enjoy your posts. I raised 4 kids (now adults) on little income in the hills of West Virginia and learnt real quick, keep plenty of food on hand and be creative. we also have to be creative to our cooking method. I loved cooking soup beans on the woodburner, then fry up some corn cakes.. mm mm mm. bisquick is good to keep on hand or you could make your own from scratch.
    What I found helped me, make a list of things you like to eat. then what is needed to make them, then if it is something with leftovers you can have a bonus meal. I like to grill 2 chickens at once and make soup or salad out of the extra.
    Also, for filler, cream of wheat is good, or grits, or plenty of rice for carb. I am new to this blog, but was having some great memories of when my kids were young. learning to preserve has helped even if you do not grow a garden. you can also cook and can meat. I always try to remember in my stockpiling,,, what if I do not have freezer or electric. canned fruits and veggies….Ya can’t forget fruits and some sweets also.

Leave a Reply

