My paracord dog leash- Part One

Posted: February 13, 2012 by Sarge in Uncategorized

I am by no means  an artist.  I’m no craftsman either (though I do have a Craftsman Club card somewhere).  I undertook this simple project becuase I thought it would be cool, and it could be useful.  I took lots of pictures, and will do my best to explain my process and my rationale.  If you don’t yet own a spool of paracord, shame on you.  For 40 bucks you can get 1000 ft. of cord rated at 550 lbs.  It’s lightweight, strong, and durable.  I have used it to fix everything from military trucks to shoes.  Making a leash with it allows me to make a useful and compact item that can be expanded into a decent length of cord in an emergency.

Okay, anyhow, on to the project.  I started with about 70 ft. of cord, knowing that extra can always be cut off and saved for other things.  I purchased a clip for the end I will attach to the dogs collar.  For the ‘handle’ end, I chose to use two pieces of hardward.  This increases the usefulness of the leash should I need to take it apart in an emergency.  At the very end of the woven strap, I used a welded steel ring that is rated for about 120 lbs.  Part way down the strap, I attached in a quick link, rated for about 800 lbs.  In addition to the equipment in the leash, I also had about 5 feet of balsa wood sticks.  You will need something like this, but it could be dowels, pens and pencils, or chopsticks if you’re in Japan or some shit.

Step one:  Cut a length of paracord.

Step two:  Tie the clip to the end of the paracord.

I used a buntline hitch to tie it on, although I ended up undoing it later on.  Go figure.  (Yeah, I had to look up a buntline hitch too.  I have both a knot tying phone app and a knot tying book)

Step three:  Run the cord back and forth between the clip and the welded ring a couple of times.  It will turn out better if you make sure that it always enters on one side and leaves on the other side of the loops.  You can run it back and forth as many times as you want.  With each pass you will make your leash wider, and add to the amount of paracord it includes.

I made three complete loops, giving me six individual lines.  Once you’re done making the loops, pull them apart until the leash is the length you want.  Keep in mind that it will end up six or so inches shorter than it starts, because you have to fold the last 6 inches over to create the ‘handle’ loop.

Step four:  Begin weaving.  This is where the sticks come in.  You could simply weave the end of paracord back and forth on itself, but this will be very time consuming to take apart when you actually need it.  If you use my method, and tuck loops through, they will pull out much more quickly when you’re in a bad situation.  Keep in mind, emergencies are just that, and you want your survivial shit now, not in 15 minutes.

Every time you weave a loop through the lines, throw the end around your stick.

 

 

Leave a Reply

