Exhausting My Food Supply Episode Three: This Isn’t Fun Anymore

Posted: February 18, 2012 by Barbie in Stockpiling Food
Tags:

So, I’m still working on depleting the pantry, and I’m more than a week past my original projection.  With the exception of coffee, I haven’t bought any groceries in almost a month.

Not to worry, ya’ll.  I’ll be OK if an ice storm hits – I’ve been using the money from my grocery budget to buy tons of canned goods for the long term storage.  I just haven’t bought anything to eat now.

Anyway, I figure I’ll probably make it another week or so.  Technically, I could survive longer on what I have, but it would be nothing but rice, croutons, and plain noodles at the very end.  I’ve decided to call this thing once I can no longer eat a reasonably healthy and balanced diet on what I’ve got left.  And I’m happy to know that my wild ass guess of how long I would last was too short by half – it gives me some hope that we’re all better prepared than we think we are.

But really?  This shit is starting to get old.

It’s not that I’m bored of eating the same thing day in and day out.  On the contrary, tonight I dined on blackeye peas stewed with a healthy dose of Tabasco sauce and topped with crumbled goat cheese – it was freaking fantastic.  I must get a goat.  In addition, I still have cans of pumpkin that I’ll make into pumpkin sage pasta sauce.  I’ve got Kalamata olives, which will go nicely in a cold Orzo pasta salad with olive oil and lemon juice.  I’ve got two chicken breasts left that will make a delicious Thai curry with my last can of coconut milk, and some pork that will be shredded into a chipotle chili.  There’s no boredom here.  But damn if I’m not sick of having limited choices.  I’m so used to being able to stop by the grocery store to indulge whatever food whim grabs me.  It’s rarely anything fancy, it’s usually something like grandma’s Hamburger soup – a meal she used to feed her family of eight on a fixed income, and a classic comfort food for me.  Whenver it’s cold, I get a taste for that soup.  Not having hamburger, or carrots, I haven’t been able to make it.  It’s started to wear on me.  Frankly, it’s a little bit depressing.

I guess what I’m trying to say is that as you’re stockpiling food for long term storage, give some thought to those comfort foods you take for granted.  We’ve all got that one food that we crave when we’re sick, and the food that we want when we start to feel better.

Then, as you plan your food storage, try to include these foods.  Whether it’s Macaroni and Cheese or Chicken Cacciatore, if it’s a morale-booster for you, find a way to make it from stockpiled ingredients.

Because when the shit hits the fan, you’re going to need all the morale you can get.

Leave a Reply

