Learning Survival Skills

Posted: February 25, 2012 by Sarge in Bug-out Bag, Survival Skills
Tags: , ,

As I think about what I’m going to load in my bug out bag(s), I tend to panic a little realizing that I am in no way a survivalist. I will never have a survival tv show, and I wont disappear into the woods for weeks on end to live off the land. I thought about buying tons of survival skills books and trying to learn everything I could.
Then I thought, “Fuck all that noise”. I have neither the time nor the patience for that. Once I decided I wasn’t going that route, I started trying to find another way to learn myself some useful stuff. I came up with a game plan.
There are probably a lot of people out there that are like me. You don’t have a ton of free time, and you couldn’t survive all that long on what you already know. So here is my proposal. Learn what you can, when you can, from whoever offers you any kind of knowledge. Stuff that will be vital, like basic lifesaving, you should memorize. We should all probably be able to make a fire using basic tools, as well. However, what about all that other stuff, like making shelters and creating traps to catch small animals? Try buying old military how-to books. The military put out all sorts of literature on survival, first aid, weapons maintenance and use, and anything else you can think of. These are typically paperback, and short and concise. There is no fluff. Pictures are simple and easy to follow.
I plan to buy them (they are typically cheap, and available at gun shows/surplus stores, and through mail order), and stash the small, useful ones in my BOB. I’ll read through ’em, or at least skim ’em first, so that I know whats there. My thought is that I will then have the information at hand, without having to memorize a ton of stuff.

http://www.armynavyshop.com/07-books-army-navy.html

These guys have some, but there are a lot more available.  I bought one for my SKS that covers maintenance and use.

Sarge

Comments
  1. David says:

    I personally thin survival has a lot less to do with reading books and buying supplies as it does with determination and instinct. I’m not a “survivalist” either…I consider myself just a farmer but because I don’t go out and spend 75% of my free income on buying radiation suits and camping gear doesn’t mean I won’t live after some SHTF situation. Don’t sell yourself short! Reading your blog makes me believe you have a hell of a lot more going on than most.

  2. showpare says:

    Saying ‘fuck all that noise’ is a good start to self-sufficiency. One of my goals for March is to make fire by friction. I’ll master it; may take longer, but, i’ll do it. Making fire in pleasant conditions with vaseline on a cotton ball and using a flint/steel is easy. Give it a shot. i figure if I practice in good conditions I’ll be better prepared to do it when the wind is blowing and raining. Starting to start is always the hardest for me.

Leave a Reply

