Building my rifle

Posted: March 31, 2012 by Sarge in Weapons and Tools
Tags: ,

I spent the morning at the largest gun show to hit this area all year.  I haven’t been yet without coming home with something.

Today it was a stripped lower reciever for an AR-15.  The one I bought is from Rock River Arms.

I’ll be buing a kit from www.akpartskits.com so that I can afford to own one that is exactly how I want it to be.  For $650 bucks I’ll be able to get a complete AR with sights.  In addition to this, I will be buying a second complete upper at some point in the future.

The second one will be chambered in .300 AAC, also known as .300 Blackout.  The reason I’ll be buying this is because it will attach directly to the lower receiver for the AR-15.  It uses all of the same lower receiver parts, plus the same magazines.  This in effect will allow me to have two rifles for the cost of one and a half.  The 5.56mm setup will have iron sights for reliability, and with the small round, will be affordable to shoot.  the .300 setup will have a decent scope, and with the heavier round, will be used for distance shooting of big game, etc.

I’m going to write up my experiences on building my own rifle from parts, so that you can decide for yourselves if its something you might want to do.

 

Sarge

Leave a Reply

