Shit I Never Thought I’d Eat

Posted: April 5, 2012 by Barbie in Uncategorized

So I arrived at work today to find a little bag of the nastiest looking stuff I’ve seen in a long time. A quick email confirmed the obvious, it was a “gift” from my Japanese friend Makky – a snack bag of iriko, or dried anchovies.
She writes “the ones I gave you are for SNACK, you eat them just how they are. If the smell is too much for you, you can put anything on them to cut the smell. My kids like them with soy sauce.”
Really? A snack? Where I come from, Doritos are a snack. An apple is a snack. M&M’s are a snack. Tiny sperm-like crunchy dried minnows are not a snack.
I plan to eat them at lunch. Or use them as bait. I haven’t decided yet.
What I do know is that 6 freaking AM is far too damn early to even look at something this grotesque.
Of course, when shit hits the fan, iriko is going to be looking mighty tasty…

Leave a Reply

